See all our News

Institute of Water launches new internal award to recognise volunteers

Posted on Posted in Uncategorized

The Institute of Water is proud to announce the launch of its new ‘Committee Members of the Year’ Award.

The award, which launches today, will recognise outstanding Area committee members on a national scale. The Institute wants to thank, recognise and acknowledge the hard work and time that individual committee members invest in driving forward the Institute of Water as we work to support the careers of people working in all professions and at all levels across the UK water sector.


By sharing the achievements from across the eight Area Committees, the award will demonstrate the key role they play within the Institute of Water and also highlight the opportunities available on Area Committees to both members and non-members who may be looking for opportunities for their own professional development.


Simon Cyhanko, Institute of Water Chair and Sewerage Operations Manager at Northumbrian Water said;


“The Committee Members of the Year Award is a great way for us to further recognise the fantastic work completed by our volunteers up and down the country. Our volunteers put a lot of time and energy into promoting the Institute’s message, organising fantastic events and providing points of contact and support for members in their local area. I’m really looking forward to hearing about and celebrating the great work individual Committee Members do.”


The nomination process will result in eight regional winners of the award which will then be narrowed down to the top three National Committee Members of the Year.


Nominations are open NOW and will close at midnight on 31st May. All winners (national and regional) will be presented with their Award at an Area Event with a special prize for the top three national winners.


To find out more about the Committee Member of the Year Award please contact Lucy Archer via


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *