Allen Bolton Award

Allen Bolton Award Winner 2019 – Peter Simpson, CEO Anglian Water 

This award was established in memory of one of the founder members of the Institute, Allen Bolton. Allen spent a lifetime in the service of the water industry and served in every office of the Institute at some point in his long career. Allen retained his keen interest in the Institute of Water well into retirement and attended every Conference and AGM until Nottingham in 2007, when he was presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Allen died in 2011 and this Award has been established in memory of him and in recognition of all that he did for the industry and the Institute. This award is presented each year at the President’s Dinner to an individual who has demonstrated exceptional commitment to the Institute of Water and to the professional development of members.


[L2R] Simon Cyhanko, Chair of the Institute of Water presenting Ian Limb, Head of HR at Portsmouth Water the 2018 Allen Bolton Award.

2018 Winner

At the Institute of Water President’s Dinner and Awards 2018, Ian Limb, Head of HR at Portsmouth Water and Institute of Water Member and past National Chair, was presented with the eighth Allen Bolton Award and is certainly a deserving winner.

Ian started in his water industry career when he joined Portsmouth Water in 1984 as a Post Boy. Over the years he has held a number of different positions including Accounts Supervisor and HR Manager before becoming Head of HR in 2014.

Ian joined the Institute of Water in 2000 and has been an active member ever since. He has previously sat on the South East Area Committee, including the roles of Treasurer and Area Forum Rep. He remained on the committee until 2014 and whilst no longer an active committee member, Ian always remains available to help and promote South East Area events.

In 2009, Ian attained Corporate Membership and joined the Institute’s Membership and Standards Committee. In 2014 he joined the Board as Vice-Chairman and remained in this role for a further year following his three-year term, and served as National Chairman in 2015. Ian has been a CPD Champion and was also awarded his Fellow Membership at the 2018 Institute of Water AGM.

Ian said:

“It was over 18 years ago that I was called into my MD’s office, who told me to join the Institute of Water and that it would be good for my development. I did not know at the time how important that decision was. I’m a great believer that to fully succeed in your role you need to both understand the company you work for and the industry you work within. The Institute has given me the opportunity to learn about the great industry we work in and at the same time meet people from all over the UK and in many disciplines so different to mine. Many of these people I can now call my friends. Without this opportunity I am certain my career would have taken a different path.

I was very honoured to take up the role of National Chair but this award surpasses that and anything else I have done in my career. I feel very humble in receiving this award and appreciate the kind words from Simon upon presenting the award in that it is for “previous” and importantly “ongoing commitment to the Institute”. I will always be committed to the aims of the Institute knowing that everything I give back will always, in the end, be less than what the Institute has given me. The Institute has been fundamental in who I am today.
I met Allen Bolton on many occasions and now to be associated with his name is indeed a great honour. I thank the Institute for making me the recipient of the award. It really is a very proud moment for me.”


Previous Winners

2019 Peter Simpson, Anglian Water

2018 Ian Limb, Portsmouth Water

2017 Kathy Auld, Scottish Water

2016 Michael Fowle, Past Vice President Engineering

2015 Lynn Cooper, Institute of Water

2014 Barrie Light, Bournemouth Water

2013 George Irvine, Northern Ireland Area

2012 Tim Boldero, Past Vice President Environment

2011 Fiona Jehu, Dwr Cymru Welsh Water