Institute of Water - Innovation Awards
Contact Us LinkedIn

Not a member? Join here
Tel: 0191 422 0088

Innovation Awards

The Institute of Water National Innovation Awards, sponsored by Veolia.

The Institute of Water provides a stage on which to recognise Innovation in the UK water and sewerage sector.

The National Innovation Awards give a much needed spotlight for the many innovative individuals and companies within the water sector to demonstrate their excellence, and are just part of the commitment the Institute of Water is making to promote the right cultural environment and encourage pride in the sector.

Each year, each Area of the Institute holds a regional innovation competition and the finalists from each are short-listed for the National Award. The Award is presented at the President’s Dinner during a prestigious ceremony where water sector experts from across the UK gather together to celebrate innovation in the water sector.

2017 National Innovation Award Winners

The 2017 National Innovation Award, sponsored by MWH, was won by Dan Green and the Wessex Water team with their entry ‘Innovative Catchment Management Approaches’. This years runners up were Welsh Water’s Catchment Team with their entry ‘Deep Rooted Solutions: Growing Landscape Resilience’.


2016 National Innovation Award Winners

The winners of the 2016 National Innovation Awards sponsored by MWH were South East Water with their entry ‘Use of eDNA – Managing Risk with Forensic Science’. The runners up were Dwr Cymru Welsh Water and Northumbrian Water & South Tyneside Council. The awards were presented at our 2016 President’s Dinner and Awards in Birmingham in May.


Previous Winners

2015 – Wessex Water

2014 – Pulsar Process Measurement & DCWW Innovation Team

2013 – Ferret Technology

2012 – Veolia Water Central