Scottish Area Committee

Welcome to the Scottish Area of the Institute of Water!

The Scottish Area committee represents members across the whole of Scotland, from our remote highland and island communities through our busy central belt and down to the Scottish Borders. We believe the purpose of our committee is to make the Institute of water “alive” for our members. To this end we pride ourselves on being a vibrant and visible committee who strive to help all members make the most of their membership. As a testament to this commitment we were named Area Committee of the Year in 2018 and are working hard to be in contention for this award in the coming year.

Our key yearly events include:

  • President’s Dinner & Innovation Awards (April/May)
  • Our much loved fishing trip (August)
  • Autumn Seminar (October/November)

In addition, to ensure we reach as many members as possible we hold web based “Lunch Byte” sessions throughout the year and a range of other events, from social evenings to technical site visits and everything in between. For more detail on our upcoming events, see our events page.

We always welcome any queries or feedback you may have – contact us at


Upcoming Scottish Area Events: 

19/02/2020 | Low Carbon Energy Centre at Stirling WwTW 

13/03/2020 | HydroNations Leadership Series 

28/03/2020 | IWater Scotland Members Day – Katrine WTW and sailing on Loch Katrine

Committee Members

  • Michelle Calder

    Position: Area Secretary

    Company: Scottish Water

    Email: Michelle.Calder@SCOTTISHWATER.CO.UK

  • Mark Wilson

    Position: President

    Company: Veolia UK LTD

  • Mark McEwen

    Position: Past President

    Company: Scottish Water

  • Belinda Oldfield

    Position: Area Chair

    Company: Scottish Water

  • Rob Bradley

    Position: Vice Chair

    Company: Independen

  • James Sommerville

    Position: Area Forum Rep

    Company: Ross-shire Engineering

  • Scott Kerr

    Position: Treasurer

    Company: Utilitec Services

  • Rachael Picken

    Position: Events & Membership Co-ordinator

    Company: Scottish Water

  • Kirstin Watt

    Position: Publicity Co-ordinator

    Company: Scottish Water

  • Anna Figueras Carril

    Position: Rising Star 2020

    Company: Scottish Water

  • Rebecca Skuce

    Position: Committee Member

    Company: Scottish Water Horizons

  • Kathy Auld

    Position: Committee Member

    Company: Scottish Water

  • Lisa McKenzie

    Position: Committee Member

    Company: Veolia

  • Richard Anderson

    Position: Committee Member

    Company: Veolia

  • Kerry Relf

    Position: Committee Member

    Company: Scottish Water

  • Vivienne Dell

    Position: Committee Member

    Company: Scottish Water

  • David Laurie

    Position: Committee Member

    Company: Veolia